Skip to content

April 23, 2017



by M J Farah

Muhammad(SAAS)’s reputed ‘Nocturnal Journey’ (The miraj) took place from Makkah to Jerusalem and thence to Seventh Heaven. He was charged with the command that all Muslims were to offer prayer five times a day.

There are different accounts of what occurred during the Mi’raj, but most narratives have the same elements: Muhammad(SAAS) ascended into heaven with the angel Gabriel and met a different prophet at each of the seven levels of heaven; first Adam, then John the Baptist and Jesus, then Joseph, then Idris, then Aaron, then Moses, and lastly Abraham. After Muhammad meets with Abraham.

The events of Isra and Mi’raj are referred to briefly in the Qur’an. For greater detail, they have been discussed in Hadith literature, reported sayings of the prophet which supplement the Qur’an. Of the hadith, two of the best known are by Anas ibn Malik, who would have been a young boy at the time of Muhammad’s journey of Mi’raj. Ibn ‘Abbas is another source that challenges the usual description of the Mi’raj. He was also a young boy at the time of the journey.

Sources :

1- A Chronology of Islamic History, H. U . RAHMAN





Read more from Religion
1 Comment
    Apr 26 2017

    nice article


Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: